MORAL QUANDARY

Boost or Bust?

Que sera, sera

--

A cartoon of a woman helping a young boy up a ladder into the clouds
ChatGPT 4 from my prompt

Update: The boost program has been expanding to small publications and the intent is to add many more. This makes it more fair with every addition. Therefore I have changed my mind about the program and now endorse it.

Any of my regular readers know that I am no fan of Medium’s Boost program. I’m not against great stories being given extra exposure; I simply object to how the program is implemented.

A story I wrote about Apple’s Vision Pro on 2/6/2024 was Boosted six days after what had been a rather pathetic performance of few views, fewer reads, and not even enough money to buy a Starbucks coffee.

Not that I would. That stuff is far too strong for me. I’m a coffee wimp.

The sudden arrival of the email announcing the possible elevation of my story caused me some qualms. On the one hand, I dislike the Boost program. On the other, I did feel that story deserved more exposure than it had reached. Aaargh! What do do? Refuse the Boost? Let it ride?

Ah, hell, let’s see what happens.

Though, just as was the case with my other two previous Boosts, I don’t expect the story will run far or long. Medium has provided us with “Medium’s Quality Guidelines: How real humans review stories for Boost”, which…

--

--

Anthony (Tony/Pcunix) Lawrence đź‘€

Retired Unix Consultant. I write tech and humor mostly but sometimes other things. See my Lists if your interests are specific.