Can An AirTag In Your Car Help You Find It In A Parking Lot?

Maybe, but maybe not

--

I read an AirTag review recently where the author mentioned putting an AirTag in his car. For a half-second, I wondered why but quickly thought, “Oh, sure, they have an old car. Nothing built in to know where they parked.”

But then a few seconds later, I thought again. I realized that I have never once tried out the “Locate Vehicle” function in the app for my car. Could it be as good as the Apple Find My app is with an AirTag? I doubted it, and the more I thought about it, the more I felt that an AirTag in the car not only made good sense but was something I should do. I most definitely have stumbled around a few parking lots looking for my car. An AirTag would make finding it so simple!

So I ordered another AirTag from Apple. Then I opened up the MySubaru app on my phone.

Whoa! Sounds a bit hasty!

You might be thinking “Isn’t that backward? Shouldn’t you have checked the Subaru app to see how well it works before buying another AirTag?”

Well, sure. Except for two things. One, it’s Apple vs. Subaru. We have loved every one of our Subarus, but they aren’t known for slick…

--

--

Anthony (Tony/Pcunix) Lawrence đź‘€

Retired Unix Consultant. I write tech and humor mostly but sometimes other things. See my Lists if your interests are specific.