I CANโ€™T DRIVE THIRTY-FIVE

I Should Have Lost My License in My โ€™73 Gran Torino Sport

Blessings upon gearhead cops

Anthony (Tony/Pcunix) Lawrence ๐Ÿ‘€
3 min readSep 13, 2023

--

Sports car burning rubber
Firefly image by author

My 1973 Gran Torino Sport had the 163 horsepower 351 cubic inch Cleveland engine. Basically it was the same car as Clint Eastwood had in Gran Torino, except that his was a โ€™72. Mine was gold, with a stripe, and was quick enough to push you into your seat from any gear.

However, on a hot summer day in 1973, I was driving behind a very slow driver on a narrow back road. My car had everything a car like that should have. Four-speed, dual exhaust, a Holley carburetor I had added. It lacked air conditioning, though, and I was miserable.

The speed limit was forty-five. The guy in front of me kept it at thirty-five. Sure, the road was narrow and full of curves, but come on! It didnโ€™t help that I was twenty-five years old, an age not known for great patience, especially when tooling a car like mine. The car itself seemed to be aggravated by the thwarting of its inborn capabilties.

Every time the road was straight with lines to allow passing, heโ€™d drift left, not letting me pass. I was swearing and pounding my fists on the wheel, shouting โ€œAsswipe!โ€ and far worse repeatedly.

--

--

Anthony (Tony/Pcunix) Lawrence ๐Ÿ‘€

Retired Unix Consultant. I write tech and humor mostly but sometimes other things. See my Lists if your interests are specific.