TECHNOLOGY

Is There Any Hope For Micro Payments?

I’m beginning to think there is not

--

DALLE-2 image by author of a few coins in front of a street violinist

We dislike advertising, we dislike paying member dues, and we don’t want our demographic data to be used as the product. At one time, I thought micropayments might be a solution to those problems for content creators.

It seems simple enough. Why wouldn’t you pay a tiny amount of money to the creator of something that you enjoyed? Isn’t that better than paying a monthly fee for access to content? Apparently not.

Tessa Schlesinger (Tessa Schlesinger - published 60 years.) posted this at Post.news:

A very famous musician earned only $32 playing beautiful music incognito for an hour in a Washington D.C. subway. That’s rather telling, I think.

Oh, you might say that those results might have changed had he been there every day, that more people would have noticed, spread the word, and that he’d soon be swamped with money.

I don’t think so.

--

--

Anthony (Tony/Pcunix) Lawrence 👀

Retired Unix Consultant. I write tech and humor mostly but sometimes other things. See my Lists if your interests are specific.