I DON’T TRUST YOU

Mint Shutting Down, It’s Back to Scripts Again For Me

Credit Karma is a flat no

--

Piggy bank surrounded by loose coins
Photo by Diane Helentjaris on Unsplash

The email came this morning: Mint, the frustrating Intuit financial software I have used for too many years, will be shelved as of January.

Intuit expects users to migrate to another crappy product of theirs called Credit Karma, which is in no way a replacement for Mint. Aside from it lacking budgeting, the Credit Karma web page instantly confesses what it is and isn’t.

Intuit Credit Karma uses your credit profile to show you curated recommendations. Plus, you can see your Approval Odds before you apply without impacting your scores.

In other words, they will access all your accounts, checking, savings, investments, PLUS YOUR CREDIT BUREAU information and then shower you with ads.

Curated recommendations, yeah, right. You cannot even get started with them without them doing a credit pull, which is where I bowed out.

I have looked into possible replacements. Do not bother to recommend any because they all either lack the features I want or give me no reason to trust them enough to give them the access they require.

Before Mint, before computers, I did all my financial work with a checkbook, paper…

--

--

Anthony (Tony/Pcunix) Lawrence 👀

Retired Unix Consultant. I write tech and humor mostly but sometimes other things. See my Lists if your interests are specific.