Technology

The Best I Can Say About Apple’s New TV Remote

Is that it’s better than the old one

--

Photo by author

The new $59 Apple TV Remote will work with your older Apple TV 4K box and it is better than the remote you have now. It’s better because it has visible marks for orthogonal movement, and is larger.

I bought one because of the markers and being larger, and yes, it does possess both those things.

Other than that, I’m disappointed. I’m still in favor of keeping it; my wife was leaning toward returning it, but has now decided that it’s “good enough”.

Such high praise! It’s good enough!

The power button

Apple is very excited about this tiny little power button that your fingers probably can’t reach without using your other hand. Were they afraid you might hit it accidentally? Perhaps so, but why do we need it at all?

It’s not a power button. It’s a sleep button that shuts off your TV as well. You can already do that by holding down the remote’s TV button on both the old and the new remotes, so I can’t call it a wonderful new feature.

The TV button

Kudos to Apple: they have kept that TV button as confusing as it ever was. Hold that puppy down to…

--

--

Anthony (Tony/Pcunix) Lawrence 👀

Retired Unix Consultant. I write tech and humor mostly but sometimes other things. See my Lists if your interests are specific.